Friday, January 1, 2016

2016 Finishing the Series Reading Challenge

Finishing the Series was formerly hosted by Socrates' Book Reviews and is now hosted by Bea's Book Nook. We all start a series or six and then get behind for one reason or another. This challenge will help you catch up.

Reading Challenge Details:
  • All books that are part of a continuing series qualify (i.e. Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson, Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, James Patterson's Alex Cross, etc.)
  • It doesn't matter if you have 1 book or 10 books in a series to complete it, it qualifies (i.e. if you only need to read one more Mercy Thompson book to complete the goal, that's fine) The goal is to complete a series from wherever you are up to until the last published book.
  • The qualification period is January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016. Books must be read during this time frame to count. Sign up is now until December 1, 2016.
  • Take the button above and post about it on your blog. Click on the button above to sign up and make sure you link it directly to your post about this challenge, not to the home page of your blog.
  • If you don't have a blog, that's fine. Just leave a comment to sign up and tell us which series you are reading. Or you can join the Goodreads group for this challenge by clicking here.
  • Each month there will be a post where you can link up your reviews. Write a review, 2 sentences or an essay, whatever works for you, but there is a minimum of 2 sentences. Not sure what to write? How about something like, "The characters were a delight but the story was slow and confusing. It was disappointing."
  • Any format and length of book counts - print, audio, ebook, etc.
  • You should choose the series you want to finish before the challenge begins, but it isn't necessary. It's fine to change series during the year - as long as you complete whichever series it is.
Challenge Levels:
  • Level 1 (Novice series reader):  Complete 1 series
  • Level 2 (Testing the waters):  Complete 2 - 4 series
  • Level 3 (Experienced):  Complete 3 - 6 series
  • Level 4 (Expert series reader):  Complete 7 or more series


Level 2 (Testing the waters): Complete 2 - 4 series

Tentative Reading List

The Hollows series by Kim Harrison

Need to read 3 books to finish the series:

Ever After (Book 11)
The Undead Pool (Book 12)
The Witch with No Name (Book 13)

The Weather Warden series by Rachel Caine

Need to read 3 books to finish the series:

Cape Storm (Book 8)
Total Eclipse (Book 9)
Red Hot Rain (Book 10)

No comments:

Post a Comment