Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Review: Against the Wall by Jill Sorenson


Title:  Against the Wall
Author:  Jill Sorenson
Genre:  New Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
Publication Date:  February 2, 2016
Series Info:  Standalone
Cover Artist:  N/A
Who/What/Why/Where/How:  I was scrolling through Tasty Book Tours' upcoming events and the cover for this book caught my eye.  NetGalley was nice enough to provide me with an advanced copy to review.
Where to Buy:  Amazon

Fans of Katie McGarry, Simone Elkeles, and Tammara Webber will love Against the Wall! As teenagers, they fell for each other despite the odds. But now that Eric and Meghan are all grown up, they’re reunited by fierce passion and dangerous secrets.

Eric Hernandez is the bad boy of every schoolgirl’s fantasies—and every mother’s nightmares. But after serving time for manslaughter, he’s ready to turn his life around. He just needs a chance to prove himself as a professional tattoo artist. The one thing that keeps him going is the memory of the innocent beauty he loved and left behind.

Meghan Young’s world isn’t as perfect as it looks. The preacher’s daughter is living a lie, especially now that Eric is back. Tougher, harder, and sexier than ever, he might be the only person she can trust. But there’s no telling what he’ll do to protect her if he learns the truth, and that’s a risk Meghan won’t let him take. And yet, back in the arms of the troubled boy with the artist’s soul, Meghan can’t help surrendering to the man he’s become.
 Add to GoodReads


Review:
This one's going to be short and sweet.  I liked Against the Wall.  Did I love it?  No. HOWEVER I had enough interest in the story and characters that I managed to finish the story in one sitting.  Contradictory?  Perhaps but, there were certain parts of the book that had your girl like...


Other than those questionable moments, it was a decent read.  I liked Ms. Sorenson's characters (some a little more than others), I liked the setting and the overall story/plot was good.  I also particularly liked how she used a little Spanish here and there throughout the story AND that it was properly used.

Short story shorter, if you're into reformed bad boys and the ladies that love them then you'll most likely dig this book.


Favorite Scenes/Lines:

Hilarious exchange between Meghan and Kelsea:
"Do you want to go to the bathroom or rest?" I ask.

"I want to pee in private."

"I've seen you pee before. I wasn't impressed."

"Don't lie. You had vagina envy."

I lean against the doorjamb, smiling. "I wouldn't mind seeing your dad pee."

This gets her. She doubles over and laughs weakly. "You're sick."

I move closer and put my arm around her. "You're sick. Or are you just pretending? What an attention whore."


Stalk the Author:
Website   |  Twitter   |   Goodreads  |  Facebook


Also Reviewed By:
Publisher's Weekly
Harlequin Junkie (3/5)
Novel Addiction (4/5)


No comments:

Post a Comment